h1

Last day in San Francisco

February 23, 2008

Hey! I did just have my last day at the GDC and in San Francisco, and will fly back to France tomorrow morning. There’s a transfer in New York but it’s a couple of hours to take the second flight, so too bad I won’t be able to visit this city. Anyway these 3 days in here were pretty good! I’m not gonna say ‘awesome’ because some of the (programming) sessions didn’t met my expectations (too technical and fast and not so useful, not technical at all, etc.), and also because 3 days is really short to visit the city, especially when you are all days long in a building.

But I repeat it was great! We went to the Ubisoft’s party at the Fluid Bar (it’s a kind of club more than a bar) for the End War game’s presentation and .. I don’t even remember the initial theme/goal of the party. Anyway we enjoyed the free bar, I came back to hotel with a perlin disturbance in my walk and this morning was really difficult …

Today, after the last session at the Moscone Center, I took a random cable train near the hotel (on Powel St) and stopped at the last station! And in fact I arrived at Fisherman’s Wharf (top north of SF), and it was really nice. I found the cable train really cool, with great sightseeings from the top of some hills.

fisherman's wharf

People here are cool! In half an hour I met 4 different people, I mean I spoke to them between 5 and 20 minutes, in the street, in the cable train, … and this kind of situation never happens (to me at least) in France. Maybe it’s the fact that I’m French and they can hear that or because I was alone (Arnaud took a walk in another part of the city), but I think it’s more a general way of life because they talk to others American people too. Whatever that’s a nice feeling, and they’re also polite and do not seem stressed, it’s totally the opposite of the Parisians behavior.

There was a very strong smell near the Fisherman’s Wharf, because of the bay I guess and all the fish and crab restaurants! So I walked a little, the night was falling, and I reached a pier where I could hear and see some seahorses and have a nice view on Alcatraz, the Golden Gate bridge, a big part of the city all lighted, and other cities around forming tons of lights on some kind of small mountains. It was really nice!

san francisco

I’m totally exhausted and tomorrow is gonna be a looooong day. I’ll try to talk more about what I’ve seen at the GDC and post some photos soon 😉

Leave a Reply

